← Issue №14/ week of Oct 4, 2026/ the whole section, in full

Colorectal, in full.

All 6 Colorectal papers in this issue, as full cards, ranked by clinical utility. The issue page carries the strongest few; this is the section, whole.

Sections this issue
Filter

All 6, in full

most clinically useful first · the 2 the issue led with are ruled in green
Colorectal guideline · Sep 30, 2026 · Gastroenterology · IF 25.1

Serrated Polyposis Syndrome: A Review and Consensus Statement by the US Multi-Society Task Force on Colorectal Cancer.

Guideline / reviewserrated polypcolorectal cancer screeningguidelinecolorectal cancer
Clinical takeawayScreen first-degree relatives of patients with SPS for CRC via colonoscopy. Perform meticulous colon inspection and frequent surveillance colonoscopy (compared to standard intervals) in SPS patients to reduce CRC risk. Consider colorectal surgery for SPS patients with cancer or unmanageable polyp burden. Germline genetic testing is indicated only in individuals meeting criteria for a known hereditary syndrome.
What it foundIndividuals with serrated polyposis syndrome (SPS), diagnosed based on WHO criteria (size, cumulative lifetime number, and location of serrated polyps), have an increased risk of prevalent and incident colorectal cancer (CRC).
ContextConfirms and refines current practice by emphasizing the need for rigorous surveillance and screening in SPS patients and their first-degree relatives, aligning with WHO diagnostic criteria.
No standard claimed for this paper

Every paper is compared to the standard governing its question. This one is not: either no standard in the corpus matches it, or the comparison did not hold up on review and was withdrawn rather than published unverified. Both are logged.

Rex DK … Robertson DJ · Gastroenterology · IF 25.1 · PubMed ↗Permalink
Colorectal meta analysis · n=3,277 · Oct 1, 2026 · Colorectal Disease · IF 3.2

LigaSure versus conventional excisional haemorrhoidectomy: A systematic review and meta-analysis with trial sequential analysis of randomised controlled trials.

New evidencesystematic reviewmeta-analysiscolorectal surgery
Clinical takeawayConsider LigaSure for grade IV haemorrhoidectomy to improve early perioperative outcomes, particularly postoperative pain and recovery time.
What it foundLigaSure reduced postoperative pain on days 1 and 2 (mean difference not specified), cut analgesic use, intraoperative blood loss, operating time, and time to return to daily activities, and lowered risks of wound discharge, postoperative bleeding, and acute urinary retention compared to conventional haemorrhoidectomy.
ContextConfirms and refines prior evidence that LigaSure offers advantages in early recovery and perioperative outcomes compared to conventional haemorrhoidectomy, though long-term recurrence and anorectal outcomes remain uncertain.
Measured against the standard of care· ASCRS 2024 (Dis Colon Rectum 2024;67(5):614-623) / AGA Clinical Practice Update 2026 (Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol, Qureshi et al.)

No single passage of this standard matched the paper closely enough to quote, so none is shown. The standard is cited above.

Our full summary of this standard

Two current US documents now apply: ASCRS 2024 (GRADE-graded clinical practice guideline) and the AGA 2026 Clinical Practice Update (expert review, 11 best practice advice statements, no GRADE strength; Qureshi, Hoang, Frye, Rao; Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol, online April 29, 2026). Diagnosis: take a disease-specific history and exam. AGA advises anoscopy, whenever possible, for every new patient with suspected hemorrhoids before any treatment, to confirm the diagnosis and exclude other pathology including cancer. Do not automatically attribute rectal bleeding to hemorrhoids. Complete colonic evaluation is for select patients: no obvious anorectal bleeding source, associated abdominal symptoms or change in bowel habit, persistent hematochezia after successful treatment, or due for CRC screening. Grade internal hemorrhoids I-IV by prolapse. First line is diet and behavior: fiber (AGA cites 20-30 g/day) plus fluid, avoid straining, and limit toilet time (AGA cites about 3 minutes). Sitz baths have little evidence. Topical anesthetics, corticosteroids and vasoactive agents may give short-term relief on weak evidence; AGA limits topical corticosteroids to 2 weeks or less because of skin atrophy. ASCRS adds that oral phlebotonics help bleeding, pruritus and discharge but not pain. Office procedures come before surgery for grade I-III disease (ASCRS: grade I-II and select grade III refractory to conservative care). Rubber band ligation is the most effective office procedure (AGA: 66-94% success, more durable for prolapse and recurrent bleeding; about 2% complications). Infrared coagulation is comparable in the short term and preferred in anticoagulated patients, patients with coagulopathy or cirrhosis, and pregnant patients. Counsel every procedural patient on the rare risk of pelvic sepsis and its warning signs. Refer grade III disease refractory to office procedures, grade IV disease, and symptomatic combined internal/external disease for excisional hemorrhoidectomy, the definitive treatment. Doppler-guided artery ligation is an option (less pain, more recurrence). Stapled hemorrhoidopexy is not routinely first line (higher recurrence, unique serious complications). Special populations (AGA): in active Crohn's disease or UC, defer hemorrhoid treatment until remission; in pregnancy, treat conservatively and defer procedures until after delivery unless necessary; in cirrhosis, distinguish hemorrhoids from rectal varices. Acutely thrombosed external hemorrhoids: the two societies differ. ASCRS 2024 says select patients may benefit from early surgical excision, which beats incision/evacuation for recurrence. AGA 2026 says these are best treated surgically by incision and drainage, which relieves symptoms faster than nonoperative care (a secondary summary places this within 72 hours).

ASCRS 2024 (Dis Colon Rectum 2024;67(5):614-623) / AGA Clinical Practice Update 2026 (Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol, Qureshi et al.) · reviewed 2026-10-11 ↗
Barone GL … Formiga FB · Colorectal Disease : the Official Journal of the Association of Coloproctology of Great Britain and Ireland · IF 3.2 · PubMed ↗Permalink
Colorectal retrospective · n=7,204 · Sep 30, 2026 · Dis Colon Rectum · IF 3.5

Trends and Survival Outcomes of Adjuvant Chemotherapy in Low-Risk Stage II Colon Cancer: A National Cancer Database Analysis.

New evidenceepidemiologycolorectal cancerhealth services
Clinical takeawayDo not administer adjuvant chemotherapy to patients with low-risk Stage II colon cancer unless they meet guideline-defined high-risk criteria.
What it foundAdjuvant chemotherapy in low-risk Stage II colon cancer showed no survival benefit after adjustment compared to standard of care (HR 0.998; 95% CI: 0.709-1.404).
ContextChallenges the practice of using adjuvant chemotherapy in low-risk Stage II colon cancer, reinforcing current guidelines that limit its use to high-risk patients. This conclusion is based on a retrospective analysis with limitations, including lack of disease-specific survival data.
No standard claimed for this paper

Every paper is compared to the standard governing its question. This one is not: either no standard in the corpus matches it, or the comparison did not hold up on review and was withdrawn rather than published unverified. Both are logged.

Kahana N … Emile SH · Diseases of the Colon and Rectum · IF 3.5 · PubMed ↗Permalink
Colorectal retrospective · n=283 · Oct 1, 2026 · Colorectal Disease · IF 3.2

Outcomes of 'in-house' genetic testing within a specialist hereditary colorectal cancer registry.

New evidenceLynch syndromecolorectal cancer
Clinical takeawayConsider genetic testing for CRC patients under 40, those with multiple polyps, or dMMR cancers, as these subgroups show high diagnostic yields (16%-45%), consistent with UK National Genomic Testing criteria. Ensure pre- and post-test counseling as per standard of care.
What it foundGenetic testing detected variants in 30% of patients (85/283), with highest yields in Lynch syndrome (45%), multiple adenoma cohorts (16%), and CRC patients under 40 (16%).
ContextConfirms the utility of genetic testing in specific CRC subgroups (CRC patients under 40, multiple polyps, dMMR cancers), aligning with UK National Genomic Testing criteria but extending evidence to mainstreamed testing outside traditional genetics pathways.
Measured against the standard of care· ACG 2026 (adenomatous polyposis: Mankaney et al., Am J Gastroenterol 2026;121:2086-2120) / ACG 2015 (Lynch, SPS: Syngal et al.)

… Germline multigene panel testing is recommended for anyone with 20 or more cumulative lifetime colorectal adenomas (strong recommendation) and suggested for 10-19 adenomas (conditional, because the yield is lower). … The choice of operation (total colectomy with IRA, IPAA, or end ileostomy) is individualized by genotype, polyp distribution, cancer status, comorbidity and preference, with early referral to an experienced colorectal surgeon. …

From our summary of this standard, unedited — the part the paper bears on. … marks omitted text. Our wording, not the guideline's; read the source for its own text.

Our full summary of this standard

Polyposis syndromes are now governed by ACG 2026 (Mankaney G, Idos GE, Stoffel EM, Weiss JM, Shah S, Qayed E, Harnegie MP, Burke CA; Am J Gastroenterol 2026;121(9):2086-2120, GRADE). For polyposis, it replaces the 2015 ACG hereditary GI cancer guideline (Syngal et al.), Recommendations 10-11. Germline multigene panel testing is recommended for anyone with 20 or more cumulative lifetime colorectal adenomas (strong recommendation) and suggested for 10-19 adenomas (conditional, because the yield is lower). The 2015 polyposis testing trigger was more than 10 adenomas. Asymptomatic APC carriers, biallelic MUTYH carriers, and untested people at risk for AFAP or MAP should have a baseline colonoscopy by age 18-20. Colonoscopy then repeats every 1-3 years depending on the histology, size and number of polyps. It moves to every 3-6 months when there are many or large polyps, or high-grade dysplasia. This replaces the 2015 schedules of annual sigmoidoscopy/colonoscopy from puberty for classic FAP, colonoscopy every 1-2 years from the late teens for AFAP, and from age 25-30 for MAP. Whether at-risk children in classic-FAP families still start younger is not stated in the excerpt available at review; confirm against the full text. For FAP, AFAP and MAP, upper endoscopic surveillance that includes viewing the duodenal papilla is suggested over no surveillance (Recommendation 8, conditional). Duodenal management is still staged by Spigelman, which has acknowledged limits in sensitivity for duodenal and papillary cancer. The 2026 starting age and intervals for upper endoscopy are not stated in the excerpt available at review. The choice of operation (total colectomy with IRA, IPAA, or end ileostomy) is individualized by genotype, polyp distribution, cancer status, comorbidity and preference, with early referral to an experienced colorectal surgeon. IRA is generally favored with up to about 20 rectal adenomas and IPAA above that, though this is not a fixed cutoff. The rectum or pouch should be checked endoscopically every year after IRA or IPAA. Chemoprevention is recommended against as a substitute for colectomy when surgery is indicated. Whether 2026 keeps annual thyroid ultrasound is not stated in the excerpt available at review. Lynch syndrome and serrated polyposis syndrome are outside the 2026 document, so the Lynch and SPS parts of the standard on file were not re-verified here: Lynch colonoscopy every 1-2 years from age 20-25, gyn and upper-GI surveillance, and SPS colonoscopy every 1-3 years with removal of polyps over 5 mm.

ACG 2026 (adenomatous polyposis: Mankaney et al., Am J Gastroenterol 2026;121:2086-2120) / ACG 2015 (Lynch, SPS: Syngal et al.) · reviewed 2026-10-11 ↗
Srisuttayasathien M … Monahan KJ · Colorectal Disease : the Official Journal of the Association of Coloproctology of Great Britain and Ireland · IF 3.2 · PubMed ↗Permalink
Colorectal systematic review · Sep 30, 2026 · J Clin Gastro · IF 2.9

An Umbrella Review of Systematic Reviews on the Utility of Antibiotics in Patients With Acute Uncomplicated Diverticulitis.

New evidencesystematic reviewmeta-analysishealth servicesguideline
Clinical takeawayConsider omitting antibiotics in mild AUD, as nonantibiotic management appears safe with similar outcomes and potentially shorter hospital stays, though high-quality trials are needed to confirm these findings.
What it foundNonantibiotic management of acute uncomplicated diverticulitis (AUD) showed similar recurrence (OR 0.66-1.01, RR 0.82-1.02), complications, mortality, and need for surgery compared to antibiotics, with shorter hospital stays (-1.18 to 0.19 days), based on low-certainty evidence from systematic reviews of low or critically low quality.
ContextChallenges the standard practice of antibiotic use in mild AUD, aligning with recent trials suggesting no added benefit in this population.
Measured against the standard of care· ACG 2026 (Peery AF et al., ACG Clinical Guideline: Colonic Diverticulitis, Am J Gastroenterol 2026;121(7):1549-1561); supersedes AGA Clinical Practice Update 2021 as primary source

… ANTIBIOTICS: suggest against routine antibiotics for low-risk patients with acute uncomplicated diverticulitis (conditional, moderate certainty; four RCTs showed no effect on complications, recurrence, surgery, readmission or mortality). …

From our summary of this standard, unedited — the part the paper bears on. … marks omitted text. Our wording, not the guideline's; read the source for its own text. The rest of this standard includes SURGERY.

Our full summary of this standard

ACG 2026 (Peery AF et al.; Am J Gastroenterol 2026;121(7):1549-1561; published 1 July 2026) is now the current US guideline. Its clinical content matches the standard on file. Classify diverticulitis by phenotype. UNCOMPLICATED is localized inflammation of colonic diverticula without abscess, perforation, stricture or fistula. CHRONIC/SMOLDERING is inflammation lasting weeks to months that partly or fully improves on antibiotics, then relapses soon after they stop. COMPLICATED means phlegmon, abscess or perforation, graded by the CT-based modified Hinchey scale (0, Ia, Ib, II, III, IV); strictures and fistulas are delayed complications. Hinchey 0-I is usually managed without surgery. Obtain CT at first presentation and in severe cases. Repeat CT may be unnecessary for a typical recurrence after a CT-confirmed prior episode without concerning features (severe pain, fever, vomiting, chills, abnormal exam). Keep a low threshold to image immunocompromised patients. ANTIBIOTICS: suggest against routine antibiotics for low-risk patients with acute uncomplicated diverticulitis (conditional, moderate certainty; four RCTs showed no effect on complications, recurrence, surgery, readmission or mortality). Low-risk means immunocompetent, hemodynamically stable, tolerating oral intake without SIRS, not frail, and able to follow up reliably as an outpatient. Give antibiotics for high-risk clinical or imaging features, immunocompromise, frailty or medical complexity, inability to tolerate oral intake, clinical worsening or prolonged symptoms, systemic inflammatory findings, or when safe outpatient management cannot be ensured. When used, give 4-7 days of oral therapy: amoxicillin-clavulanate 875/125 mg q12h or moxifloxacin 400 mg daily as monotherapy, or metronidazole 500 mg q8h plus TMP-SMX DS q12h, ciprofloxacin 500 mg q12h or levofloxacin 500 mg q24h. COLONOSCOPY after recovery: recommended after COMPLICATED diverticulitis to exclude a missed cancer or premalignant lesion (strong, moderate), usually about 6-8 weeks after recovery. After UNCOMPLICATED diverticulitis it is suggested only with alarm symptoms (unintentional weight loss, change in bowel habits, iron-deficiency anemia, bloody stools, persistent abdominal pain) or when colorectal cancer screening is not up to date (conditional, low). Colonoscopy can be deferred if a recent high-quality exam has excluded neoplasia. Do not scope routinely during the acute phase, but move earlier for alarm features such as ongoing bleeding, obstruction, or imaging concerning for malignancy. SURGERY: suggest surgical referral to discuss elective resection when recurrent uncomplicated diverticulitis significantly impairs quality of life (conditional, low). Base the decision on symptom burden, not episode count or preventing emergency surgery, and confirm the diagnosis by CT first. Resection lowers but does not eliminate recurrence: about 15% vs about 60% at 5 years. Without surgery, recurrence is at least 22% at 10 years after a first episode and at least 55% at 10 years after a second, and stays high after 3 or more. Risk of complicated disease is highest at the first episode and falls with recurrences. PREVENTION (all conditional): a healthy high-fiber diet (fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes; limit red meat, refined grains, trans fats, sweets); do not avoid nuts, corn, seeds or popcorn; avoid regular NSAID use unless clinically indicated; moderate heavy alcohol use; lose weight if overweight or obese; regular physical activity; stop smoking. Recommend AGAINST mesalamine (strong, moderate), probiotics (conditional, very low) and rifaximin (conditional, very low) to reduce recurrence.

ACG 2026 (Peery AF et al., ACG Clinical Guideline: Colonic Diverticulitis, Am J Gastroenterol 2026;121(7):1549-1561); supersedes AGA Clinical Practice Update 2021 as primary source · reviewed 2026-10-11 ↗
Emile SH … Boutros M · Journal of Clinical Gastroenterology · IF 2.9 · PubMed ↗Permalink
Colorectal retrospective · n=24,473 · Sep 30, 2026 · J Gastroenterology · IF 5.7

Clinical characteristics and outcomes of bacterial and viral gastrointestinal infection by pathogen: a large-scale observational study in United States.

Epidemiologyepidemiologypediatric
Clinical takeawayNo clinical action yet: this is an epidemiological study identifying pathogen-specific outcomes, which may inform future preventive or therapeutic strategies.
What it foundNorovirus had the highest all-cause 30-day mortality rate (1.7%) among viral pathogens, compared to 0.4% for rotavirus, 0.9% for adenovirus, 0.5% for astrovirus, and 0.5% for sapovirus.
ContextThis study confirms that severe outcomes from GI infections vary by pathogen, with norovirus posing higher mortality risk, particularly in the elderly and children under 5.
No standard claimed for this paper

Every paper is compared to the standard governing its question. This one is not: either no standard in the corpus matches it, or the comparison did not hold up on review and was withdrawn rather than published unverified. Both are logged.

Kitano T … Yoshida S · Journal of Gastroenterology · IF 5.7 · PubMed ↗Permalink
← Back to issue №14 Every section of this issue is one click away, at the top of this page. Follow Colorectal by RSS